June 6, 2008
In General

National Consortium of Breast Centers recently selected Daniel B. Kopans, MD, founder of the MGH Breast Imaging Division in the Department of Radiology and a professor of Radiology at Harvard Medical School, as the winner of the 2008 Luminary Award for Visionary Leadership and Exceptional Creativity in the Field of Breast Health Care. The award honors individuals who have made significant contributions to breast health, specifically in the development of breast centers. A renowned leader in the field, Kopans has spent his entire 34-year career at the MGH and is widely recognized for his work in clinical research, professional and patient education, advocacy and the advancement of patient care.

Three MGH physicians recently were honored with Harvard Medical School's (HMS) excellence in mentoring awards. Daniel Singer, MD, of the MGH Division of Internal Medicine, was named the recipient of the William Silen Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award honoring mentors who have served for 20 or more years. Kenneth Freedberg, MD, MSc, of the MGH divisions of Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases, and Maria Troulis, DDS, of MGH Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, were honored with the A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award, which recognizes mentors who embody the same spirit, enthusiasm and commitment to mentorship as the late A. Clifford Barger, MD, who mentored countless students during his nearly 50-year HMS career. The three were formally honored at an awards ceremony May 20.

The Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM) has selected John D. Goodson, MD, of the MGH Department of Internal Medicine, as the recipient of the David Calkins Award in Health Policy Advocacy. Named in honor of the late David Calkins, MD, a former MGH internist and White House fellow during the Carter administration, the award honors individuals for their extraordinary commitment to advocacy on behalf og SGIM.

Back to table the June 6, 2008 table of contents