June 20, 2008
In General

Richard Hodin, MD, of the MGH Department of Surgery, has been elected chairperson of the Clinical and Integrative Gastrointestinal Pathobiology Study Section at the Center for Scientific Review (CSR). The CSR serves as the portal for grant applications to the National Institutes of Health and helps assess these applications for scientific merit. Hodin’s two-year term will begin in July.

Peter L. Slavin, MD, president of the MGH, has been elected to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Corporation, which is the school’s board of trustees.

James H. Thrall, MD, MGH radiologist-in-chief, has been elected chair of the Board of Chancellors of the American College of Radiology (ACR), a nonprofit organization serving more than 32,000 radiologists, radiation oncologists, interventional radiologists, nuclear medicine physicians and medical physicists. Thrall is the immediate past chair of the ACR Commission on Molecular Imaging, a member of the ACR Foundation and the ACR website advisory committee and serves on the editorial board of the Journal of the American College of Radiology.

Three MGH researchers were among those selected by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute to receive 2008 Early Career Physician-Scientist Awards. MGH recipients Regina LaRocque, MD, of the MGH Infectious Disease Unit; Joshua Roffman, MD, of MGH Psychiatry; and Paul Yu, MD, PhD, of the MGH Heart Center, will all receive $375,000 over five years.

Back to table the June 20, 2008 table of contents