July 25, 2008
In General

Anthony Zietman, MD, the Jenot W. and William U. Shipley Professor of Radiation Oncology at the MGH and Harvard Medical School, has been named president-elect and chairman-elect of the American Society of Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology (ASTRO). ASTRO is the largest academic society in radiation oncology both in the United States and internationally. Zietman's election to the organization's highest office reflects his many accomplishments in clinical oncology, education, health care policy and research.

The American Psychological Association (APA) has awarded Lawrence Kutner, PhD, co-director of MGH Psychiatry's Center for Mental Health and Media, the Award for Lifetime Contribution to Media Psychology for work in developing, refining and implementing applications, methods and procedures that had significant effects on the public and field of media psychology. A print and broadcast journalist for more than 25 years as well as a clinical psychologist, Kutner is an Emmy-award-winning documentary producer and reporter who has written extensively in newspapers and magazines on child behavior. His internationally syndicated New York Times column "Parent & Child" appeared for seven years and received the APA's 1990 National Psychology Award for the best writing about psychology in the United States. His recent book, "Grand Theft Childhood: The Surprising Truth About Violent Video Games and What Parents Can Do," was based on research conducted at the MGH.

The Natural Orifice Surgery Consortium for Assessment and Research (NOSCAR) recently honored Patricia Sylla, MD, of the MGH Colorectal Surgery Division, with a Research Award for her project, "Expanding the Application of TEMS for NOTES Colorectal Resection in a Porcine Model." NOTES (Natural Orifice Translumenal Endoscopic Surgery) is a pioneering, minimally invasive procedure in which a small camera is inserted in natural orifices such as the mouth, vagina or rectum to eliminate the need for traditional surgical incisions. Sylla was formally honored May 18 at the Crystal Award Dinner hosted by the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy and held in conjunction with Digestive Disease Week.

Three MGH fellows have been awarded two-year, $80,000 research fellowships by the American Brain Tumor Association. The award winners and their research projects are: Shawn Hingtgen, PhD, of MGH Radiology, "Engineering and Real-Time Imaging of Targeted Anti-Tumor Therapies Using ES-Derived Neural Stem Cells;" Ayguen Sahin, PhD, of MGH Neurosurgery, "Improved Strategies for Adoptive Immunotherapy against Glioblastoma through 3rd Generation Chimeric Receptor Engineered T Cells;" and Thomas Wurdinger, PhD, of MGH Neurology, "MicroRNA-Mediated Inhibition of Glioma Angiogenesis."

The Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI) has named Ronald Newbower, PhD, chief technology officer and co-founder of CIMIT, the recipient of the 2008 Becton Dickinson Career Achievement Award honoring outstanding achievements in the development or improvement of medical instruments, devices or systems. Among his accomplishments, Newbower was instrumental in the development of innovative technologies that have improved physiologic monitoring and patient safety, both nationally and internationally. Beyond his academic and research roles, Newbower has held many leadership positions, leading research groups via academic appointments in MGH Anesthesia, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology; building and directing the MGH Department of Biomedical Engineering; and serving for 15 years as the MGH's senior vice president for Research and Technology, during which time the MGH's research volume tripled to nearly $500 million per year. He also served an eight

Back to table the July 25, 2008 table of contents