Resources
  Tools and Guides Tools and Guides
  Case Studies
  Web Seminars
  Key Links
 

Health Topics
     
Quick Links
  Sign Up
  Donate
  Speakers
  Contact Us
  Directions
  Search
  Site Map
 



Improving Quality and Achieving Equity:
A Guide for Hospital Leaders


Chapter 6: Resources (pdf)

  1. The Institute of Medicine report Unequal Treatment: Confronting Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Health Care. http://www.iom.edu/?id=16740

  2. HRET Disparities Toolkit: A Toolkit for Collecting Race, Ethnicity and Primary Language from Patients. http://www.hretdisparities.org/

  3. Creating Equity Reports: A Guide for Hospitals. http://www2.massgeneral.org/disparitiessolutions/resources.html

  4. The Joint Commission’s Hospital, Language and Culture: A Snapshot of the Nation study. http://www.jointcommission.org/PatientSafety/HLC/
    1. One Size Does Not Fit All: Meeting the Health Care Needs of Diverse Populations
    2. Exploring Cultural and Linguistic Services in the Nation’s Hospitals: A Report of Findings

  5. The Office of Minority Health: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov/

  6. The Office of Minority Health’s Final Report on National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services in Health Care. http://www.omhrc.gov/assets/pdf/checked/finalreport.pdf

  7. Assuring Healthcare Equity: A Healthcare Equity Blueprint. http://www.naph.org

  8. National Quality Forum Report. http://www.qualityforum.org/

  9. The MGH Disparities Committee at Massachusetts General Hospital: www.mghdisparities.org

  10. The MGH Disparities Dashboard at Massachusetts General Hospital: http://qualityandsafety.massgeneral.org/measures/equitable.aspx?id=4

  11. Hablamos Juntos www.hablamosjuntos.org which has the latest information on interpreter services.

  12. Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Speaking Together: National Language Service Network Toolkit http://www.rwjf.org/qualityequality/product.jsp?id=29653. This toolkit provides advice to hospitals on improving quality and accessibility of language services.

  13. Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Expecting Success: Excellence in Cardiac Care (http://www.expectingsuccess.org/) aimed at improving quality of cardiac care while reducing racial, ethnic and language disparities and their toolkit available at http://www.rwjf.org/pr/product.jsp?id=28433.

  14. Hospitals interviewed for this guide:
    1. Baylor Health Care System – www.baylorhealth.com
    2. Contra Costa Health Services – www.cchealth.org
    3. Cooper Green Mercy Hospital – www.coopergreenmercyhospital.org
    4. Duke University Health System – www.dukehealth.org
    5. Henry Ford Health System – www.henryfordhealth.org
    6. Los Angeles County and University of Southern California Healthcare Network – www.lacusc.org
    7. Massachusetts General Hospital – www.massgeneral.org
    8. Montefiore Medical Center – www.montefiore.org
    9. Seattle Children’s Hospital – www.seattlechildrens.org
    10. University of Mississippi Medical Center – www.umc.edu

  15. Disparities Solutions Center Archived Web Seminars: http://www2.massgeneral.org/disparitiessolutions/web.html
    1. Improving Quality and Achieving Equity: A Guide for Hospital Leaders
    2. Getting Started: Building a Foundation to Address Disparities through Data Collection
    3. Getting it Right: Navigating the Complexities of Collecting Race/Ethnicity Data
    4. Collecting Race and Ethnicity Data is Not Enough: Measuring and Reporting Disparities
    5. Creating Equity Reports: A Guide for Hospitals
    6. Using Multi-Disciplinary Teams to Address Disparities:
      Navigators, Health Coaches and Community Health Workers
    7. QI and the EMR:  Identifying and Addressing Disparities in Chronic Disease Management
    8. Improving Quality and Addressing Disparities: Accreditation Standards, Market-Strategies and Levers for Action

  16. PowerPoint presentations
    1. Improving Quality and Achieving Equity: A Guide for Hospital Leaders (pdf)
    2. Disparities and Quality: Why Now and What Are We Doing About It? (pdf)
    3. Leading Change (pdf)

  17. Peer-reviewed Articles (See Appendix G )


Back to Guide Homepage