Massachusetts General Hospital Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine - News and Events
Mass General Hospital  
 printemailA  |  A  |  A   

Back to News Stories


DACCPM Hosts Citizenship Awards

On Thursday, October 22, 2009, Dr. Jeanine Wiener-Kronish hosted the inaugural Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine (DACCPM) Citizenship Awards Celebration. The awards were presented to a variety of faculty for outstanding work as researchers, teachers, clinicians, resident advocates, and those faculty who initiated programs over the past year. This diverse group of faculty was honored during a celebration at weekly Case Conference. Each faculty member was publicly acknowledged and thanked for his or her exceptional contributions to the DACCPM in the areas of teaching, clinical service, research, new program development, leadership, and community service. This year's recipients include:

Researchers Citizenship Awards

Ricardo Barbieri, PhD
Emery Brown, MD, PhD
Julian Goldman, MD
Fumito Ichinose, MD
Jianren Mao, MD, PhD
Patrick Purdon, PhD
Warren Sandberg, MD, PhD
Clifford Woolf, PhD

Henry K. Beecher Award for Faculty Teaching

Yandong Jiang, MD, PhDCitizenship Awards
Tom Romanelli, MD
Neelakantan Sunder, MD

Clinicians — Additional Clinical Time

Ed Bittner, MD, PhD
Tim Canty, MD
Jonathan Charnin, MD
Cosmin Gauran, MD
John Marota, MD, PhD
Annetta Murphy, MD
Ken Shepherd, MD
Rodger White, MD
Tong-Yan Chen, MD

Clinicians — Interdepartmental Collaboration

Matthias Eikermann, MD
Dwight Geha, MD
Richard Pino, MD, PhD

Resident Advocates/Teachers

Mike Bailin, MD
Mike Fitzsimons, MD
May Pian-Smith, MD

Initiated Programs

Aalok Agarwala, MD
Meredith Albrecht, MD, PhD
Rae Allain, MD
Jesse Ehrenfeld, MD
Chris Giligan, MD
Padma Gulur, MD
Bill Kimball, MD, PhD
Uli Schmidt, MD, PhD
Scott Streckenbach, MD
Susan Vassallo, MD
Lisa Warren, MD

Pictured (top, left to right): Mike Bailin, May Pian-Smith, Mike Fitzsimons
Bottom, left to right: Yandong Jiang, Neelakantan Sunder

Back to News and Events

Office Information

Department of Anesthesia,
Critical Care and Pain Medicine
Gray-Bigelow 444
55 Fruit Street
Boston, MA 02114

Public Transportation Access: Yes
Disabled Access: Yes